Stars and planets in the universe impact our life both positively and negatively. Astrology is a science that explains the place and position of these supernatural bodies and tells us the impact of these stars and planets on our personal and professional life.

The main essence of astrology is foreseeing one’s future by reading a birth chart drawn by an Astro-expert. 


Jyotish which is known as Hindu-Vedic Astrology is a word driven from a Sanskrit word, ‘Jyothisha’, which means light. There are 16 squares that form a complete Jyotish chart in Vedic Astrology. 

Jyotish is an ancient science that consists of three terms – Sidhanta, Samhita, and Hora.

Sidhanta is a methodology that helps in the creation of Panchang.

Samhita determines the right time (Subh-Muhurat) for various occasions and festivals.

Hora helps in the prediction of the future for a person’s professional and personal life. 

Raashis Or Sun Sign

Raashis or zodiac signs are 12 signs which tell the position of stars like sun and moon in one’s birth chart to predict his/her present or future. These 12 zodiac signs are Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. 

As per the astrology, every individual has one sunshine or star shine that determines his/her way of thinking, acting, and behaving.

The most famous astrology is Hindu astrology, which is based on Vedic astrology. Famous Hindu saints St. Agastya and St. Bhrigu from 2500 BC wrote about the zodiac signs. They categorized each Raashi in 3 patterns. Then they discovered the sidereal zodiac Nirayana and divided it into 12 equal parts.

The Nirayana is composed at 360 degrees and after every 30 degrees of it called Raasi (zodiac sign). Raasi is also a Sanskrit word which means part.

Each zodiac sign has its ruling star/planet as below:

  • Aries-Mars
  • Taurus- Venus
  • Gemini-Mercury
  • Cancer-Moon
  • Leo-Sun
  • Virgo-Mercury
  • Libra-Venus
  • Scorpio-Mars
  • Sagittarius-Jupiter
  • Capricorn-Saturn
  • Aquarius-Saturn
  • Pisces-Jupiter

27 Nakshatras In Vedic Astrology

As per Hindu Astrology, there are 27 (28 with ecliptic) Nakshatras. Nakshatra is a Sanskrit word which means, sky maps also known as the lunar mansion. 

Nirayana the imaginary belt is a 360 degrees belt. This 360-degree divided into 27 parts. Each of these is related to 27 stars having their 13.20 degrees. All these 27 nakshatra has 4 pandas with them. Panda is equivalent to 3 degrees and 20 minutes each. 

Abhishek nakshatra is the main nakshatra in these 27. That means if you worship Abhishek nakshatra only, it will take care of all the other 26.

Dasha Or Planetary Periods

Each zodiac sign co-relates with a specific ruling planet. One or more planet has their impact on each zodiac sign. The planetary period (also known as Dasha in Vedic astrology) has involvement in the presence of being for an individual. 

Dasha itself means a state of being. Dasha is equally related to planets (Graha) as well as zodiac signs.

 Maha-Dasha is the very first Dasha calculated as per the natal moon at the time of birth. It is the king of Nakshatra and creates an impact on every sub-dasha. 

After Maha-Dasha comes Antar-Dasha then, Pratyantar Dasha, and then Sookshm Antardasha. The later state of Dasha is Praana-Dasha and the last comes Deha Antardasha.



Planets or Garha

Graha is a Sanskrit word that means seizing. There are 9 planets as per the Vedic Astrology. Each of these 9 has an impact on our actions, behavior, and personality that tells our past, present, and future.

Scripture says Lord Vishnu incarnated the Nav-Graha (9 planets). Later on, astrology adopted the concept of these 9 planets and explained how they impact an individual’s life. 

Each one of these planets is a huge form of spiritual energy that vibrates on a particular frequency. This vibration impacts an individual’s behavior, past, present, and future.

Transits (Gocharas)

Gochara is a study of the movement of 9 planets on your birth chart. Every planet has a different time cycle to move from each Rashi to another. Jupiter and Saturn take the longest time to move from one Rashi to another and known for their immense importance in one’s state of being.

Union- Planetary combination or Yoga

Yoga is a Sanskrit word which means union. In Hindu astrology, the relation between the planets, sign, or house on the basis of their placement, aspect, or conjunction called Yoga. It shows the directional impact of planets in one’s birth chart (Kundli). 

Yoga of these 9 planets in one’s birth chart has a great impact which can lead one from rag to riches or vice-versa.

Basically, there are two Yogas. Raja Yoga takes on to name, fame, and riches. Another is Daridra yoga, which leads you to a bad or poor condition in one’s life.

Houses or Bhavas

In Vedic astrology, there are 12 houses in the entire 360-degree Chakra which are known as Bhava. These Bhava in zodiac sing helps to analyze the complete picture of an individual’s life. These 12 Bhavas also called ‘Purusharthas’ or ‘aim of life’.

Drishti or Aspects of Planets

Drushti means, sight. Planets have forward sights, the farthest the sight one has the strongest it is called in astrology. Aspects play an important role in both planetary movement and zodiac signs.

Dosha Or Defects

A negative impact of planets explained in one’s horoscope is called Dosh or defects. This negative impact can also mary with a positive impact of a planet and convert it into the defect or Dosh itself. So, it is important to get the remedy for a planetary defect or Garah-Dosha as soon as you identify them. 

Fix your appointment with the best astrologer in Delhi-NCR to answer your every question related to astrology/Jyotish.